It’s Faith By Choice.

Remember that time in high school, when all the “cool kids” were doing the things you weren’t? You thought they had cooler hair, cooler clothes, cooler cars…the list goes on. They were going to crazy parties, meeting new people, making memories, and then posting it all online for the world to see. You start to panic, you thought that you were pretty cool yourself, until one of them told you, you weren’t. So you started questioning everything… you wondered if your hair was good enough, if your clothes were stylish enough, if you said the right words or phrases. Would you ever measure up?

So, you avoid these people that make you feel small…until suddenly the people you were calling your friends are now switching sides. They want to party, and hook up, have crazy nights they’ll never remember. What do you do? Where do you turn? Who can you trust?

Pass by a few years to college…and the decisions become much tougher. There’s parties, drugs, sex, sin…everywhere you look. No one is around to make sure you make the right decisions. Sure you were raised well, by caring, loving parents, but they aren’t here, where you are. All your friends are choosing this way of life that involves parties and random guys. You don’t want that life…Who can you trust, who can you listen to? You’re lost and the noises of the world around you are coming to swallow you up.

It’s nearly impossible to silence the noise. Your friends are pressuring you to come down to their level. Sure it’s fun for awhile, the energy, the excitement, but you know something they don’t. They push, they shove only to make yourself question it all even more. Should you just give in? Should you just go crazy? They want more of you, they want you.

And in that moment, you find silence…

Your answer has been here all along. Watching you, walking with you, talking to you, loving you… He has been your choice. He has been right there. He feels your pain, He sees your tears, He knows your heart. And in that moment, you’re reminded it’s all choice. God is my choice. ❤

It’s never as easy as some make it out to be, to follow God.  From a distance, sure, we Christians have it all together, but once my heart became a God loving heart, it all becomes much more complicated. The thing is, no one ever said that being a Christian was easy…God never promised easy. He did, however, promise eternal life. He promised His love and compassion, all the days of our lives. He promises to always forgive us, to always guide us…if only we ask for Him first.

There will be times when the hardest decisions we can imagine will emerge. It’s in those moments we need Him most. If I had given into the temptations of college and those around me, I would have been left feeling empty and hopeless. Instead, I looked to my Great God for love, support, and the right decision. There’s points in our lives that define us, and who we are. It’s moments that change us.

It was in this moment, I realized just how far I’ve came and just how different I am from those I once called my friends. I’ve realized what it means to be In the world, but not Of the world. I no longer wish to be Of the world. God has ignited a fire within me so big and so bright that I can’t help but flourish in Him. As stated in Habakkuk 3:19, “The Lord God is my strength. My bravery. He will walk me through places of trouble and suffering.” This is exactly what He has done for me, and He can for you too.

Who are you going to become? Who do you see when you look in the mirror? Are you happy with who you see?

If you aren’t, trust me when I say, Jesus knows you by name and longs for you to know Him. He is waiting for you to love Him, and adore Him. He already loves you and whatever decision you’ve made to this point, He will forgive you for, if you only ask.

“Ask me and I will tell you remarkable secrets you do not know about things to come” Jeremiah 33:3

There’s not a day that goes by that i wish to have my broken life back. Life with God is so much greater than any I could have ever imagined on my own, or created on my own.

It’s faith by choice, and my choice is Him.

Leave a Reply

