Live IN the world, not OF the world. 

While in college, I was asked why I don’t ever go out? Meaning why don’t I go to the bars and clubs…I replied to this man that I’ve had a lifestyle change. He says, “…growing up so soon? I’m still living the college lifestyle.” This really surprised me. I don’t think that I act “old” or anything. I’ve just come to know my Father, and I would disappoint Him by partaking in such acts. It’s really hard to say “no” in college. There’s constant pressures to fit in, much worse than ever in high school. God has shown me in the last couple years what it really means to be a follower of HIM. It is NOT easy, it’s not even always fun, BUT it’s the right thing to do because God died for me and by honoring Him in front of my friends, He will honor me in front of the Father. The verse that immediately comes to mind, is that as followers of Christ we are to be IN the world, but not ever OF the world! What a powerful statement!! What does that really even mean to you?? I’ll tell you what it means to me. It means that you can live on earth, spend time with whom ever you want, but don’t par take in the selfish acts of non followers. It breaks God’s heart whenever He sees His children doing drugs, drinking, cheating, lying, hurting… He sent His ONLY son, into the world, to die for our sins and when we willingly and knowingly par take in the crazy “college lifestyle” as this man was referring to it…it breaks God’s heart. He cries for us, but He has hope in us. In the book of Jeremiah, it says, “For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Can you imagine just from that alone, how much God loves you? Honor God in all things you do, no matter what it is. When you do so, He will be happy. “Blessed are those who trust in the Lord. They are like trees planted along the riverbank, with roots that reach deep into the water. Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought. Their leaves stay green, and they go right on producing delicious fruit.” Jeremiah 17:7-8. I want to leave you with this thought. What decision have you been making? Are they making God happy or should you be asking for forgiveness? Just remember, you are the Son/Daughter of the All Mighty King! He loves you! He adores you! He will forgive you!

Leave a Reply

