Figuring out strengths.

So I’ve recently joined my first online book club with Christian author, Holley Gerth. On her blog, myself and hundreds of other women are reading “You’re Already Amazing.” We just finished our first week and today we were asked to define our God given strengths.

Whenever I read this chapter and reviewed the Life Growth guide, I couldn’t see that I had any strengths listed, or any at all for that matter. I really couldn’t figure out how I could possibly be used in God’s kingdom and this is something I’ve struggled with ever since graduating from college last May. What exactly is my purpose now…I’m no longer a student and now there’s this pressure of having to have everything figured out.

During work today I was thinking about this again and I still had no idea. I decided to pray during my lunch break, then I looked at the list again- protective! It mind as well been in BOLD because it stood out immediately! I believe protective is perfect, because I have always been pulled to defend and PROTECT those that everyone else looks down upon. Whether this be a child being bullied, or an adult that everyone gossips about, I’ve always been drawn to these types of people. I always want to comfort them and be there for them because I’ve been on the other side of the attacks, I know what it’s like to feel alone and a target for other’s pleasure.

God loves everyone! In the book of Matthew it talks about God loving the least of these…I believe for myself, this is the least of these that I am to love. Those who are whispered about and laugh at, those that have nothing or no one. I am to defend and protect these. I am to pray for these and strengthen these through the Word.

We can’t face the enemy on our own and I often think back to my days in elementary school. I wish that I’d known then what I know now. I wish someone would have been teaching me to pray for those who are against me and who persecuted me. Jesus was there then just as he is now, but I believe that whenever we face trials against the enemy, that we would all feel much safer and less afraid, knowing that our Father was going before us.

Everyone deserves to feel protected.

4 comments

  1. megzie212 · March 29, 2016

    I don’t personally know you..or have known you for a while, but I can see that you have the gift of writing, encouragement and clarity!! You’re writing brings forth wisdom and encouragement!
    I’m so glad I found your blog because I’m in the same season of discerning Gods will for my life, following his calling, and turning away from what I thought I was meant to do..I’ve learned over these past months and it’s more important what He wants, not what we want. It’s a hard lesson to learn.
    I’d love to encourage you to pray about the gifts God has given you..and for Him to reveal them to you..we all have gifts for a reason! They are to edify the church and build up the kingdom. Most importantly they are given by God for us to express ourselves and enjoy our passions!

    Liked by 1 person

    • itsfaithbychoice · March 30, 2016

      Thank you so very much!! That made my night! As I said in my post, I have spent a lot of time trying to figure out what to do with my life postgrad. I went from having structures and homework and test, to do whatever you want in the world, and it’s really overwhelming as i’m sure you understand. Thank you so much for your encouraging words and I will continue exploring more strengths. It’s hard to look at yourself and see strengths so thank you for offering some of which you believe fit me. Thank you again for reading my blog!! I’m So happy about what gods doing!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Uncknows · April 20, 2016

    Thank you so much for this! This came right on time as I refreshed my screen immediate blessings. Love and peace on your walk!! 🙏🏾

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

